Calibration Forums
 
 

Go Back   Calibration Forums > DIY Calibration - Display Devices > Flat Panels - Plasma > Pioneer

Notices
Unread 10-22-2009, 01:50 PM   #1
kurochickensoup
Member
Professional Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Need help!!! Calibrating March 2009 PRO-151FD with I1 Pro and ColorHCFR.

Hello. Here are the results of the calibration I did on one of my march 09 151's. I can't seem to get the gamma flat at the 80 to 90% mark no matter what I do. In addition, even one notch moved in either direction on CMS sends the gamma into lumpyville. Magenta is jacked up and needs adjusting but I can't seem to touch it without severely sacrificing my already imperfect gamma. HELP!!!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tv2r4 greyscale.jpg (98.3 KB, 37 views)
File Type: jpg tv2r4colortemp.jpg (81.3 KB, 28 views)
File Type: jpg tv2r4gamma.jpg (103.6 KB, 39 views)
File Type: jpg tv2r4luminance.jpg (79.7 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg gamut tv2r4.jpg (103.1 KB, 25 views)
kurochickensoup is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Register to remove these ads. It's free!



Register to remove these ads. It's free!
Unread 10-22-2009, 04:53 PM   #2
Turbe
Senior Member
Professional Supporter
 
Turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,912
Thanks: 194
Thanked 178 Times in 137 Posts
Default

It would really help if would post your settings, all of them..

What is the Source Player (model) and Pattern Source?
Turbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-22-2009, 05:40 PM   #3
kurochickensoup
Member
Professional Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Player source is a ps3. Settings are as follows.

All extra junk off.

Contrast 37

Brightness 0

Color +1

RBG

-1
-1
+4
-2
+1
0

(RBG in order as they are listed in controlcal)

Gamma all +1,0,0 from 1 to 9. Being R+1, G0, B0.

CMS controls all left at 0 as they screw up the gamma.

Sorry I didn't post these to begin with. It's been a hectic day. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Oh and pattern source is the AVS 709 disc I got from the AVS forum.

Last edited by kurochickensoup; 10-22-2009 at 11:13 PM.
kurochickensoup is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-22-2009, 10:07 PM   #4
Turbe
Senior Member
Professional Supporter
 
Turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,912
Thanks: 194
Thanked 178 Times in 137 Posts
Default

Quote:
Gamma all +1,0,0 from 1 to 9. Being R-1, G0, B0.
What do you mean, are the Gamma Controls:

+1, 0, 0 (RGB - Points 1-9)

or

-1, 0, 0 (RGB - Points 1-9)

?


What about the CMS Controls?

What is the BR Player Manufacturer or Model? Is it connected directly to the KRP-M?


Also, for the High/Low Controls, you should adjust G-High and G-Low only as a last resort (meaning, keep them at 0 unless you have to).
Turbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-22-2009, 11:11 PM   #5
kurochickensoup
Member
Professional Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I'm sorry, I got that backwards. They in fact are +1,0,0. I will edit the post. I have an elite 151 not a krp. I am using the PS3's blue ray player. CMS controls are at 0 because if I move any of them, the gamma looks like a bunch of camels backs.
kurochickensoup is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2009, 08:08 AM   #6
Turbe
Senior Member
Professional Supporter
 
Turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,912
Thanks: 194
Thanked 178 Times in 137 Posts
Default

What build month is your 151?

Set all your Gamma back to 0 (if anything, it will go negative most likely). I think your Color Control is low as well... how did you come to 1 (the steps / math you did to adjust the Color Control)? I've seen closer to 3 for Color on most postings for that model. I'd reset the High/Low Controls to 0, Color to 3, all Gamma to 0 and start over.

Also, take note of my G High and G Low comments above.


Might as well Post your relevant PS3 settings too.

Is the PS3 going through an AVR and/or Switch via HDMI?

Last edited by Turbe; 10-23-2009 at 08:14 AM.
Turbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2009, 09:35 AM   #7
kurochickensoup
Member
Professional Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Here are the results of my latest run on my other 151.

Color 37

brightness +1

CMS all 0.

Color +3.

RBG (in order as listed in controlcal.)

-3
-1
+5
-2
+1
0

Gamma is all 0,-1,-1 from 1 to 9.

Same source and patterns used as listed above. Now I assume that I should have the screen size as dot by dot when taking measurements in the window patterns correct?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tv1r3 colortemp.jpg (86.8 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg tv1r3 gamut.jpg (109.6 KB, 21 views)
File Type: jpg tv1r3 greyscale.jpg (104.5 KB, 29 views)
File Type: jpg tv1r3 luminance.jpg (84.6 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg tv1r3gamma.jpg (105.4 KB, 29 views)
kurochickensoup is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2009, 09:39 AM   #8
kurochickensoup
Member
Professional Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Aren't the results of the gamma on these two sets pretty similar. Same humpiness leading up to the split at 80 and 90.
kurochickensoup is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2009, 09:56 AM   #9
Turbe
Senior Member
Professional Supporter
 
Turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,912
Thanks: 194
Thanked 178 Times in 137 Posts
Default

looking good.. take a run with G High and G Low at default 0, basically do not adjust those two, force yourself to only adjust the others.

Also, I'd like to see the reports when all Gamma is at 0 to see how flat your gamma is at the default (but do adjust the grayscale, just not G High, G Low).
Turbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2009, 09:58 AM   #10
Turbe
Senior Member
Professional Supporter
 
Turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,912
Thanks: 194
Thanked 178 Times in 137 Posts
Default

I can't remember, will ColorHCFR allow you to manually enter a Gamma Target (i.e. 2.25, 2.28 etc)?
Turbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2009, 10:03 AM   #11
Turbe
Senior Member
Professional Supporter
 
Turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,912
Thanks: 194
Thanked 178 Times in 137 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbe View Post
What build month is your 151?

I guess I should of read the Thread's Title


Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbe View Post
What is the BR Player Manufacturer or Model? Is it connected directly to the KRP-M?
Quote:
Originally Posted by kurochickensoup View Post
I have an elite 151 not a krp.

#2

Last edited by Turbe; 10-23-2009 at 10:08 AM.
Turbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2009, 10:58 AM   #12
kurochickensoup
Member
Professional Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I tried all those suggestions turbe. Whenever I pull g high and low to 0, and put the gamma at default 0, it not only gets lumpy, but the blue in the gamma will pull in the opposite direction of the blue in the greyscale. This also happens if I put contrast any higher than 37, or below 37. Any other suggestions. Is that split at 80 and 90 compromising my PQ in a way that will be perceptible to the human eye?
kurochickensoup is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2009, 11:07 AM   #13
kurochickensoup
Member
Professional Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Okay, now I'm seeing something here. If I put the screen size to full instead of dot by dot when I'm taking measurements, it seems to give me a flat reading for green in my high end but red and blue slightly drop off. What screen size should I be using when taking greyscale measurements, full, or dot by dot? I know the window size has a big impact on the results!!!
kurochickensoup is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2009, 12:04 PM   #14
Turbe
Senior Member
Professional Supporter
 
Turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,912
Thanks: 194
Thanked 178 Times in 137 Posts
Default

You won't see that by eye. your Delta E is lower than 2.

Anyways, for calibration with 1080 source, use Dot by Dot and disable your Orbiter remember to enable the Orbitor (2) after you are done with the calibration session.
Turbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2009, 01:19 PM   #15
kurochickensoup
Member
Professional Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Now I mean the gamma as far as what I will see by eye. The gamma is the only problem so is that what you were referring to?
kurochickensoup is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2009, 01:22 PM   #16
Turbe
Senior Member
Professional Supporter
 
Turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,912
Thanks: 194
Thanked 178 Times in 137 Posts
Default

I'm pretty sure I've seen some reports from D-Nice's Calibrations for a few 2009 151FD builds with similar at 80/90 - I've emailed D-Nice to see if my memory is correct


Hover your mouse over each RGB point in ColorHCFR (for Gamma) at 80/90 and post the numbers

Last edited by Turbe; 10-23-2009 at 01:38 PM.
Turbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2009, 02:12 PM   #17
kurochickensoup
Member
Professional Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Blue at 80%=2.20

Blue at 90%=2.21

Red at 80%=2.21

Red at 90%=2.15

Green at 80%=2.19

Green at 90%=2.15

Pretty jacked!!! The rest is a little lumpy but not even close to as bad as 80/90. I literally have tried everything. If you think of a solution please let me know. I have lost a LOOOOOOOOT of sleep working on this and if I can get it right, I can have some peace with myself.
kurochickensoup is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2009, 06:45 PM   #18
Turbe
Senior Member
Professional Supporter
 
Turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,912
Thanks: 194
Thanked 178 Times in 137 Posts
Default

haha, you understand that is very good, right? It's really 90% only if your target is 2.2
Turbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2009, 11:40 PM   #19
kurochickensoup
Member
Professional Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I guess I'm a bit of a perfectionist, but what about the color on both sets. It seems that the 1st tv I posted has a pretty serious magenta problem. I tried to post the delta E's but the file only saves as a .chc file which I cannot post on this forum. I believe I am getting a delta E of 10 on magenta and 3's 4's and 5's on the other colors. On the second set, I believe magenta is at 6 and the rest are below 1's, 2's and 3's. But as I have said, the CMS is useless as any adjustment made makes the gamma have an epileptic episode.
kurochickensoup is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-24-2009, 12:25 AM   #20
kurochickensoup
Member
Professional Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Oh, I forgot to ask this, what display settings should I have set for the PS3? Like super white, RGB limited, and so on?
kurochickensoup is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
2009 build, colorhcfr, i1 pro, isfccc, pioneer, pro-151fd

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Sponsored Links


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2003, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement System V2.3 By   Branden
©2008 - 2017 ControlCAL.com